Latest News
Decals On Sale PDF Print E-mail

Under authority of the Code of Virginia, § 46.2-752 the Town imposes an annual license tax upon motor vehicles, trailers and semitrailers owned by any person residing or having his or its principal office or place of business in the town and upon all other motor vehicles, trailers or semitrailers operated over the streets of the town.

Town vehicle decals went on sale beginning March 1 at the Treasurer’s Office.  The cost of a decal is $38.75.  A temporary or permanent state registration must be presented when you buy the decal.  All personal property taxes must be paid
prior to issuing a decal. 

To transfer a decal to another vehicle, the registration for the new vehicles, along with the old decal (even if mutilated), must be presented. Transfers must be completed within 10 days after date of purchase. There is a $1 charge for a transfer decal.




Chatham Garden Club 2015 Tour PDF Print E-mail

Chatham Garden Club 2015 Tour for Historic Garden Week

Chatham Garden Club’s 2015 Historic Garden Week tour will showcase three homes and gardens located in The Water’s Edge community at Smith Mountain Lake on Friday, April 24 from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. With 13 miles of shoreline and more than 700 acres of land, this is one of Smith Mountain Lake’s most scenic developments since its inception in 1986.


Featured on the tour is an “old world farmhouse”, built in 2010 and belonging to Mr. and Mrs. Ben Davenport, Jr. at 240 Island View Drive, Penhook.  Neighboring houses belonging to Mr. and Mrs. John H. Ferguson at 5 Lands End Rd. and to Mr. and Mrs. William Lee at 15 Lands End Rd., Penhook will also be open for the tour.  The Ferguson house, built in 1996, is reminiscent of a James River Plantation, while the Lee house was built in the style of a French Country House in 1994.  All three houses offer magnificent views of the lake and are surrounded by gardens, beach areas, and docks.


The Water’s Edge Country Club, named one of Golf Digest’s five best golf courses in the country, will be available as a lunch venue.  A buffet lunch will be offered in the dining room between the hours of 11:30 and 2:00 at a cost of $16 per person.


Directions:  From Gretna take VA-40 West for 12 miles to VA- 626.  Turn right onto VA-626 and left on VA-610 at Water’s Edge Dr. Continue on Water’s Edge past the clubhouse and tennis courts for 1 ¼ mi.  Turn right on Island View Drive and continue ¼ mi to 240 Island View Drive, the Davenport house.


To access the Ferguson and Lee houses, continue on Water’s Edge past the clubhouse to Cross Harbor Rd.  Turn left on Cross Harbor Rd. and continue to the end cul-de-sac for both 5 Lands End Rd. and 15 Lands End Rd.  Parking is available at each house.


Tickets: $20 pp. available at each house and include admission to the three properties and The Water’s Edge Clubhouse.  Tour proceeds fund the Garden Club of Virginia’s efforts to restore and preserve Virginia’s historic gardens.


Advance Tickets: $15 pp. Available at the following locations:

Chatham: M&W Flower Shop, ChathaMooca Restaurant

Danville: The Ginger Bread House, Haymore Landscaping and Garden Center

Gretna:  Arlene’s Closet

Lynchburg: Virginia Garden Supply

Roanoke:  Townside Gardens

Rocky Mount:  Carter’s Fine Jewelers, The Grainery Gallery

Smith Mountain Lake: Lakescape Nursery, Interiors by Kris, The Little Gallery,The Gilded Lion

Altavista: Miller’s Jewelry

Martinsville: Piedmont Arts Association




Columbia Gas Safety Bulletin PDF Print E-mail



Chatham Offers a New Way to Make Payments PDF Print E-mail

The Town of Chatham announces a new and convenient way for residents to make thier payments. Beginning Febraury 3rd, real estate tax, personal property tax, Town utitlities and ticket/fine payments may be paid online. The Town has contracted with Official Payments, a leading provider of electronic payment solutions to offer payment processing over the internet at

Visa Discover and Mastercard debit and credit cards are accepted as well as electronic checks. This new service offers customers a fast, easy way to pay online so they can reap the benefits of convenience, cash managment and card card rewards.




Delinquent Chatham taxpayers face DMV stops, Treasurer warns PDF Print E-mail

On Nov. 1, the Town of Chatham will begin participating in the Vehicle Registration Withholding (DMV stop) Program as authorized by the Code of Virginia.

Through the DMV stop program, Chatham will ask the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles to withhold registration or registration renewals for any taxpayer who owes delinquent taxes, penalties, interest, and fees to the town.

Once a DMV stop has been placed on an account, the taxpayer must pay the entire amount due with certified funds (cash, money order, or cashier’s check) to get the stop removed, Clerk-Treasurer Tim Hammell said.

An additional processing fee of $40 per vehicle will be added to any funds owed to the town, Hammell added.




Chatham Cruise-In PDF Print E-mail

The popular Chatham Cruise-In's are sponsored by the Virginia-Carolina Chevy Car Club and are slated to resume in April 2015.  The events are held on the 4th Saturday of each month from April through October, starting at 4 pm to approximately 8 pm, depending on daylight & weather conditions.  The event has attracted as many as 600 classic cars in the downtown area of Chatham where Main Street is blocked & becomes a pleasnt promenade for all who enjoy viewing beautiful automobiles.  Plan on attending these events & help support the Town, our businesses & volunteer groups.  Admission is free!


Web Payments